X

NOTICE

Are you sure you want to report this?

Welcome to the launcher category! Please do not post bugs and support issues here, they will be removed.

135

Add setting to the launcher to disable all "player safety" warnings

15 Comments

Post a new comment:

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Sorted by oldest
  • 6
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    They're not that unsafe too

  • 0
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    Yes! I still can't add a version for playing with mods!

  • 9
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    I 100% whole-heartedly agree and think this should be a feature. I personally think what they need to do is use Java edition to cater to all the original gamers who've played MC for years, and then just have Bedrock edition for all the new comers who don't know what Minecraft truly is(or what it should be).

  • 14
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    Yeah, there definitely needs to be an option that just says "I read the warning once, I know what I'm doing, don't warn me again." and it applies to all installations at once and gets rid of the exclamation marks. It'd be great if it also turned off the warning ingame when joining servers on a new installation too.

  • 6
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    this is definitely a good idea. it's really annoying having warnings every time i try to launch a different version.

  • 6
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    I agree, my launcher is configured with many profiles / installations for different modpacks, and it is a little annoying having all the warning signs on all but the "latest version" profile. I do understand the reasoning behind the warnings, but I also know my modpacks are safe and don't need to be constantly warned. Being able to remove the warnings is more of an aesthetic issue than a function issue, maybe add a switch inside each profiles settings to "hide warnings" or something.

  • 8
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    I'd even go as far as to say "remove it, there was no reason to add this" but there probably really is, so I won't say that officially. I know some people are really dumb and decide to install profiles they downloaded from a malicious website or something like that.

    All I really want is the option to disable it account-wide so it'll work on any device I log into for Java. This would also help since I, like many others, use the CurseForge plugin on Overwolf, which makes a new instance of the launcher each time, making this effectively pointless if it's only tied to the launcher.

  • 1
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    Honestly I don't see a point of these existing (especially for modded 1.16 profiles where the player safety features probably still work anyway). If the concern is for Microsoft accounts with online play restrictions, then those accounts should probably just be blocked from playing these versions entirely, a warning message won't do much.

  • 3
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    Yes, especially for those of us who know what we're doing.

    I've been playing Minecraft off and on since it was in late Alpha/early Beta. That's literally an entire decade now. I think I know what I'm doing and can decide things for myself, thanks.

    As for the whole "modified installation" warning? I was modding this game and manually compiling my own modpacks back before modpacks were even a blip on the radar; and when minecraft mods in general barely even existed in the first place.

    Seeing a "modified installation" warning on an install that I only have Optifine on is just absurdly laughable to me considering how heavily I've been involved in modding over the formational years of this game.

    Take these ineffective and absurd "warnings" and get rid of them. Or at the very least give those of us who know what we're doing an option to COMPLETELY disable them.

  • 3
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    As jaded as this may be, I'd be surprised to see them take this suggestion. If memory serves, there are new telemetry features in the latest version of Minecraft, and that telemetry data is valuable, both monetarily, and ostensibly for fixing bugs.

  • 0
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hear me out, instead of adding the option to remove them, they allowed you to turn it off on only certain modified/old versions of Minecraft, for use in installations without the warning, without turning them all off?

  • 1
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    If warning people about these versions is really such a concern, maybe hide the option to disable them inside launcher_settings.json or something. That way in order to use the option, someone would either need to already know about it, or go out of their way to look it up online.

  • 0
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    absolutely. i don't don't know why, but the little warning label bugs me a lot.

  • 1
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    I almost exclusively play Modded Java Edition (Usually Forge), and actively try to use the official ("vanilla") launcher for proper account verification.  I have two arguments as to why these warnings are more harmful than helpful.

    1) The boy who cried wolf.  I trust modded instances.  With every new instance getting an obnoxious pop-up and then a perpetual warning icon, I am being trained to ignore the launcher's warnings.

    2) The obnoxiousness, especially by that pop-up, will drive people to use 3rd party launchers which bypass the vanilla launcher entirely.  I believe that is far riskier than what the pop-up is warning about.

    My suggestions would be:

    1) Change the warning icon into a beneficial feature.  Allow the mods adding 'versions' to the launcher to define their own icon so players can see at a glance what kind of modification is used in that instance.  Add a boarder so they can't just use a blank icon to hide their modded status.

    2) Add an option to remove the pop-up globally.  I would like to be able to remove it completely, but at the very least it should be possible to apply it to a 'version' so I can make multiple instances using a specific Forge version and only have to mark it as trusted once.

  • 0
    Registered User commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    just allow us to disable the warning in options there easy solution