X

NOTICE

Are you sure you want to report this?

We welcome feedback about menus, toggles on menus, buttons on menus, input devices (like touch controls and keyboards), and Minecraft’s interface. How do you play? What would make it better?

52

Delete world accidently

9 Comments

Post a new comment:

Please sign in to leave a comment.

  • 0
    Comment actions Permalink

    Uhhhhh how is that Mojang's problem? The delete screen does say your world will be gone for a very, very long time....

    If you have Dropbox or some similar service, I suggest using it to keep backups of important worlds. I keep two at a time, deleting the older one each time I want to update. There are probably more sophisticated ways to do this, but that's my way.

    Bottom line: this is your problem, not Mojang's. Figure out ways to avoid having it happen and you'll be set.

    Edit: all of this assumes you are using Java Edition, which may not be true

  • 0
    Comment actions Permalink

    It is still possible to keep backups of your worlds, even if you're a mobile user like me.  I agree that it isn't Mojang's problem.

  • 2
    Comment actions Permalink

    I agree, as there is no trash recovery system on the Xbox or Switch. If I deleted the wrong world, I'd be upset. They should add a trash recovery system that removes deleted items after like 5 days or something.

  • 2
    Comment actions Permalink

    I think this should be emplemented because i suffered from the same thing as well. My friends and i are very sad because we spent so much time creating that world. I know its my fault but cut me some slack because humans make mistakes sometimes.

       

  • 2
    Perdi75 commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    Absolutely!  A lot of hard work and creativity goes into creating these worlds.  If I delete another app, but bring it back and sign into my account, my information/saved work is still there.  This unfortunately was not the case we discovered with Minecraft this morning.  Very disappointing... 

  • 4
    Z3R0 W1NS commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    I agree because I just now accidentally deleted my world when trying to copy it since beta crashes sometimes. Also I had full netherite tools and armor and I had full enchatments AND I just beat the ender dragon and was lookikng for an elytra.As you can see I put a lot of time and hard work into this world.

  • 0
    Joey Tait commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    I was selecting a world to delete and the program somehow deleted the world I wanted to keep. There is no step confirming the name of the world that you are about to delete and no trash folder to recover from. This feature is very simple and should have been there from the start. Very frustrating to loose all that work. Disappointed in Microsoft!!

  • 1
    Skyler0x commented
    Comment actions Permalink

    Yeah the ability for Minecraft to store worlds both in the main world folder and in a backup world folder would be much appreciated.

  • 0
    Comment actions Permalink

    I agree there should be a trash. I accidentally deleted a world I was trying to copy so I could go into the far lands. I worked so hard on the world and I won’t be able to repeat the terraforming. ☹️